15 Best Inspirational Books Like The Alchemist (Life-Changing Novels)

96 Shares

Books like The Alchemist have a unique staying power. Originally released in 1988, Paulo Coelho’s enduring classic continues to inspire millions of avid readers today. The novel is equal parts beautiful fictional prose and spiritual self-help, making it a distinct kind of bestseller.

That being said, are there other best inspirational books out there similar to The Alchemist? Yes indeed – and I’d love to list a few of my favorites! I hope you’ll take away as much benefit from reading them as I did.

Enjoy!

Note: I’ve not included Paulo Coelho’s other books on this list. Instead, for variety purposes, I’ll try to feature other authors’ works instead.

Disclaimer: This post contains Amazon affiliate links.


Pin this list on your Pinterest!

My list of inspirational books like The Alchemist

1. Shantaram

Books like The Alchemist Shantaram
Click on cover art for reader reviews.

Many books like The Alchemist cleverly merge a sense of exotic travelling with philosophical undertones. Shantaram fits this bill perfectly.

The novel is set in modern Bombay’s underworld. You’re introduced to Lin, a convict fleeing from Australia as he hopes to disappear amid the bustling crowds of India. Together with his loyal friend Prabaker, the duo embark on an adventure where they meet thugs, beggars, soldiers, elites, and other colorful characters.

Similar to The Alchemist, Shantaram is a work of fiction. However, as a novel, it succeeds at tapping into our innate human desires to connect with others as we ourselves seek self-fulfillment. In addition, author Roberts’ deep love for people from all walks of life really shines through. He simply knows how to create compelling and diverse personalities that leap off his pages.

Shantaram is an enchanting work that whisks you away into the heart of Indian culture and society. Moreover, Robert writes with a lot of poetic nuance and emotion, pulling you further into the vivid world he paints for you.

In short, if you loved The Alchemist, give Shantaram a try. The book enjoys a rating of 4.6 stars among thousands of satisfied readers – with good reason.

Sale
Shantaram: A Novel
3,479 Reviews
Shantaram: A Novel
  • Shantaram
  • Roberts, Gregory David (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)

2. Journal of a Solitude

Books like The Alchemist Journal of a Solitude
Click on cover art for reader reviews.

The Alchemist is, in essence, less about the physical journey, and more to do with a pilgrimage ‘inwards’. With Journal of a Solitude, author May Sarton does the same as she introspectively tries to rediscover who she really is on the inside – away from friends, family, and everyday distractions.

I think Sarton’s book is best summed up by her own words: ” “Loneliness is the poverty of self; solitude is richness of self.” As a reader, you’ll be right by her side as she learns to appreciate the joys of her solitude, battling her loneliness and depression along the way.

For me, Sarton’s memoir inspired me on a deep and existential level. Above all, it encouraged me to be more in the present and appreciate the beauty of the now.

In short, Journey of a Solitude is a profound look at what it means to be creative and be at one with nature. It also shows us how to be brave in facing our real selves as persons, making it one of the best inspirational books like The Alchemist.


Love ‘love’? Check out our list of favorite nonfiction books about romance!


3. Life of Pi

Books like The Alchemist Life of Pi
Click on cover art for reader reviews.

This is arguably the most popular novel on my list of books similar to The Alchemist. Some of you might have also seen the movie, too.

For the uninitiated, Life of Pi is a half adventure, half inspirational book. We follow sixteen-year-old Pi, the sole human survivor of a tragic shipwreck. However, he isn’t alone. Instead, he’s stranded together with a cunning hyena, a hurt zebra, a maternal orangutan, and a temperamental tiger. What unfolds is a truly gripping tale as Pi recounts his harrowing days lost at sea.

Life of Pi is, at its heart, a fable about grit, family, love – and the pain of loss. These underlying themes truly make the book shine, weaving incredible emotional and philosophical depth into an otherwise straight-up survival plot.

In addition, please don’t be fooled by the book’s outwardly religious tone. I think this is a broadly appealing novel that can be enjoyed by almost anyone, regardless of their spiritual affinity.

In short, if you enjoyed The Alchemist, chances are Life of Pi will be right up your alley.

Sale
Life of Pi
6,863 Reviews
Life of Pi
  • Great product!
  • Martel, Yann (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)

4. Tuesdays with Morrie

Click on cover art for reader reviews.

More than four thousand 5-star ratings? Yup, the verdict is in! To me, I find Tuesdays With Morrie to be one of the best inspirational books of all-time. It’s an extremely moving memoir that reveals many key insights on life’s true meaning.

The premise is simple. Author Mitch Albom rekindles his relationship with his professor, Morrie, from nearly twenty years ago, Morrie only has a few months left to live, having been diagnosed with a terminal illness. The book chronicles their Tuesday meetings together as Morrie gives his final ‘class’ to Albom – a lesson that changed the latter’s life forever.

I first read Tuesdays With Morrie a decade or so ago – and still hold it close to my heart after all this time. The book taught me how to stay joyous even in the face of adversity. It also showed me how to appreciate my loved ones more, and not take them for granted.

Above all, Tuesdays With Morrie is likely to be a book that’ll change your life for the better. A must-read if you’re into books like The Alchemist.


5. The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari

The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari
Click on cover art for reader reviews.

This inspiring fable tells the story of Julian Mantle, a burnt-out lawyer who seeks to fix the spiritual crisis of his out-of-sync life. He thus sets out on a sprawling journey that brings him to an ancient culture, where he learns lessons that’ll alter his worldview forever.

The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari is far less allegorical and much more literal than most other books like The Alchemist. However, I find it to be just as powerful in helping people gain wisdom in life, love, and personal courage. Above all, what I took away from the book was the importance of heeding our true calling, and chasing what brings us the greatest joy.

Of the two authors, I prefer Coelho’s more poetic writing style. Nonetheless, I think The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari is an excellent accompaniment to The Alchemist. This is definitely an inspirational read.


Want to learn more about Buddhism? Read our list of recommended beginner books!


6. Jonathan Livingston Seagull

Jonathan Livingston Seagull
Click on cover art for reader reviews.

Much like The Alchemist, Jonathan Livingston Seagull is a timeless classic that has inspired many people in their personal growth. It’s a fable about a seagull who wishes to be more than ordinary. He thus pushes himself to bravely face new challenges as he seeks inner peace and perseverance.

Above all, I think this book will connect most with people who find themselves ‘outcasted’ from others. Thus, if you’re a natural status-quo bender or just want to make a name for yourself in your own unique way – this inspiring story is most definitely for you!

One thing to note. The complete and updated version includes a never-before-released Part 4. To be honest, I think this addition actually detracts from the overall value of the fable. Here, author Richard Bach meanders into rather murky religious waters – but with no real theological grounding. The whole last section seems rather directionless.

In my opinion, the story feels more ‘complete’ at the end of Part 3 – where the original version ended. You could choose to stop reading at that point, if you want to. It’s up to you!

Either way, Jonathan Livingston Seagull is to me one of the best inspirational books like The Alchemist around. It’s a beautiful, insightful, and life-affirming novel that has stood the test of time.


7. Sophie’s World

Sophie's World
Click on cover art for reader reviews.

I find Sophie’s World to be an incredibly refreshing approach to exploring philosophy – which can sometimes seem dull if not properly presented.

We follow Sophie Amundsen, a 14-year-old who comes home from school to find two mysterious notes in her mailbox. One of them reads “Who are you?” and the other asks “Where does the world come from?”. This piques Sophie’s interest. Exchanging letters with an enigmatic philosopher, she starts to question the world around her, opening her mind up to life’s most intriguing questions.

As an academic, I’ve had to read many ‘dry’ philosophy books in my life. However, Sophie’s World smartly finds a way to make profound ideas highly accessible with its very interesting story.

Above all, the book invites readers to think about Western history’s biggest philosophical questions – all while being a page-turner! This is bound to please The Alchemist fans, surely.

Sale
Sophie's World: A Novel About the History of Philosophy (FSG Classics)
819 Reviews
Sophie's World: A Novel About the History of Philosophy (FSG Classics)
  • Farrar Straus Giroux
  • Jostein Gaarder (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)

8. Siddhartha

Siddhartha If you like The Alchemist
Click on cover art for reader reviews.

This is the story of Siddhartha, a rich and upper-classed Indian who decides to abandon his privilege as he searches for spiritual fulfillment. His quest leads him to meet an eclectic mix of people ranging from Buddhist monks to a simple ferryman. All of them offer vital life lessons that teach him about love, friendship, parenthood, and other important aspects of life.

I love how Siddhartha effortlessly fuses Western and Eastern philosophies into a beautiful and inspiring whole. This inclusive method encourages us to think more deeply about our own lives as we try to pinpoint our greater purpose on Earth.

In short, this novel is a shoo-in for my list of best inspirational books like The Alchemist. In my opinion, it’s a soul-moving classic!


Other Best Inspirational Books Like The Alchemist

9. The Book of Mirdad

The Book of Mardid
Click on cover art for reader reviews.

This is the story of Mirdad, who abandons all he has known to stay at an ancient temple atop a mountain. He encounters many obstacles on his journey, but through them, learns the value of perseverance. And that’s just the beginning of what many consider to be among the greatest spiritual guidance books of all-time!


10. The Celestine Prophecy

Books Like the Alchemist The Celestine Prophecy
Click on cover art for reader reviews.

An age-old manuscript is discovered deep in the forests of Peru. Inside, nine key revelations are written about the very nature of life itself. These learning milestones are meant to guide us towards existing in greater harmony within and outside ourselves.


11. The Prophet

The Prophet
Click on cover art for reader reviews.

A celebrated classic, The Prophet is about Almustafa, a prophet who has lived in the foreign city of Orphalese for 12 years. He boards a ship to head home. Along the way, he meets people whom he sits with to discuss some of life’s most profound themes.


12. The Little Prince

The Little Prince Similar Books
Click on cover art for reader reviews.

A novel beloved by adults and children alike, The Little Prince may initially seem less serious compared to other inspirational books like The Alchemist. However, as many of you know, its core message is as relevant today as it ever was. What begins as a simple story about a downed pilot unfolds into a spectacular tale about how to cope with loneliness and the healing powers of love.


13. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Click on cover art for reader reviews.

A boy with autism tries to uncover who murdered his neighbor’s dog. Yet, along the way, he finds out surprising truths about the world around him – and himself.

On first impression, you might expect this book to be drowning in over-sentimentality. However, it doesn’t. Instead, Haddon’s classic is a smartly written, at times funny, and ultimately inspiring novel that stays with you long after you’re finished.


14. All These Wonders

Click on cover art for reader reviews.

A carefully curated collection of 45 inspiring true stories about people who have taken big risks in their lives – and prevailed. Akin to some other books like The Alchemist, All These Wonders is a great read for anyone looking for the courage to answer their life’s calling.


15. The Five People You Meet in Heaven

Mitch Albom The Five People You Meet in Heaven
Click on cover art for reader reviews.

I usually try not to include two books from the same author on a single list. However, in this case, I truly feel Mitch Albom’s The Five People You Meet in Heaven deserves a mention here.

The book centers on Eddie, an amusement park worker who dies while trying to save a young girl. He goes to heaven and meets the five people who, largely unbeknownst to him, were key in shaping the meaning of his life.

In essence, this plot serves as a fable that invites you to think about your own greater purpose – and the people who will help you achieve it.


Have you read other great inspirational books similar to The Alchemist? Drop me an email and I’ll add your favorites to this list!

96 Shares